More About Sin

Here is a portion from an article by Rick Thomas, The Most Powerful Way to Help Someone to Change that I thought GCMers would be helped by.

“Here is my question to you: Shouldn’t you have mercy on others because of the mercy that was shown to you? Let’s go at it this way. Let’s take a short Gospel Test. How you answer these questions will reveal your understanding and application of the Gospel:

  1. Who is the biggest sinner you know? If you say anyone other than yourself, then you may have Gospel amnesia. (cf. Matthew 7:3-5; 1 Timothy 1:15)
  2. Do you believe what was done to you by others is worse than what you did to the Savior?
  3. Is there someone in your life you will not forgive?
  4. Is there someone in your life you are generally angry, frustrated, or impatient?

How you answered these questions reveals your functional understanding and application of the Gospel. If you are more stuck on what someone has done to you rather than what you have done to Christ, then you are a problem-centered, self-centered Christian, rather than a Gospel-centered Christian.”

3 responses to “More About Sin

  1. Fascinating. I could be completely off-base as to your true answers, of course, and I hope I am, but given how nobody online can know anything about you other than by what you post here, perhaps you’ll be willing to hear me out about and give consideration to how you’ve come across on this blog, to at least one reader, in light of these four questions:

    1. Who is the biggest sinner you know? Based on this blog, I’d say it’s your sister and her friends. You rail continuously about how wrong and sinful your sister and her GCM friends are/were (the specks in their eyes) with hardly a word about your own failings (the log in your own).

    2. Do you believe what was done to you by others is worse than what you did to the Savior? Given that you talk all but constantly about what your sister has done to you and your family with nary a word about your sin relating to Christ’s sacrifice, I’d have to say that your answer to this one is clearly coming across as a resounding “yes.”

    3. Is there someone in your life you will not forgive? In my estimation, if you had forgiven your sister (and her GCM friends), then you would most likely have moved on and wouldn’t be pursuing this apparent crusade against both her and GCM. How one’s time is spent says an awful lot about what is in one’s heart and you’ve obviously spent a great deal of time tearing down both your sister and GCM on this blog in the name of “pointing out error” and “proclaiming the gospel.”

    4. Is there someone in your life you are generally angry, frustrated, or impatient? [sic] I’ve read all of your posts over the past several months and I, at least, can see your anger, frustration, and impatience with your sister and various GCMers shining through in your writing like a beacon.

    Naturally, this is just how you’re coming across to me and I’m but one person who has read here, but at the same time, is this really how you want to potentially come across to anyone?

    While I’m certain that your understanding of the Gospel isn’t reflected by these potential answers because you do seem to have good (albeit apparently vengeful) intentions with this project, the fact that you appear to be stuck on demonizing other people and have consistently, in reply to comments on your blog, refused to consider yourself as any part of the issues with your sister, certainly does reflect your “functional application of the Gospel” as Rick Thomas put it. At the very least, it negatively affects any ministry you wish to have when you appear to be vastly hypocritical in your presentation.

    It is my deepest wish that I am mistaken about what your answers, in your heart, truly are and that you will be able, by the Grace of God, to present yourself more authentically in future posts, if so.

    Ephesians 3:20-21
    “Now to Him who is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that works in us, to Him be glory in the church by Christ Jesus to all generations, forever and ever. Amen.”

    • I have mentioned my own sin a few times on this blog (Bad Theology – Sin and Enemies, maybe others plus some ones I haven’t published yet.) But this website is not about me (although I can tell you that I do sin daily and this is why I post so much about forgiveness b/c I know how much Christ has forgiven me!) but about the bad theology of a supposedly Christian website.

      To address number 3 and 4, I have a post I will be publishing in the next few days. Once you see that, it might answer the part of your question about forgiveness.

      I am sure you do see anger and frustration and impatience in my writing. It is horrible to see what kind of non-Christian advice is being given on GCM and the outcomes of that bad advice. It is very destructive. I have heard from so many former GCMers that have seen all this and some who have also been on the receiving end of the bad advice. When they stepped away from GCM they could see what happened and why and make the necessary changes in their lives to counter the effect of taking that bad advice. I have heard from many former GCMers that are too hesitant to share their stories on this site because they know what kind of backlash they would more than likely receive from current members. And because of all this, I have this site and will continue to point out error. As a side note, Matt Richards has an article where he explains his anger when someone pointed out error until he understood how dangerous it can really be. Here is the link: http://www.pastormattrichard.com/2014/03/just-relax-little-liquid-drano-wont.html

  2. Dear expose, Seems like it’s tough to catch a break sometimes huh? Me and the questions? Well, it’s a struggle.

    1. Biggest sinner? Hitler, not me? I understand all sin is sin compared to Holiness, and Holiness sacrificed its’ self in my place, still it’s hard for me not to add my own relative scale. One mans’ speck is another mans’ plank.?

    2. Well, I may have received some injustice but I have not been crucified yet. Plus the best way to be free of most offences is to forgive and love as best you can, bitterness is a bad thing you give to yourself. Bitterness is your own fault not someone else’s.

    3.Is there someone in your life you will not forgive? I have forgiven for the reasons above, however similar to your situation with your sister, there are aspects of the relationship that are not up to you that may limit the relationship.

    4. Isn’t God frustrated with us sometimes? Though not generally?

    “better is open rebuke than hidden love” The wounds of a friend can be trusted but an enemy multiplies kisses. Proverbs.

    Let’s just say you have to be pretty good friends with a person before one might venture to “wound” a friend properly.

Leave a Reply

