Family Background

I know I need to be careful over the next several posts since I will be going into personal matters.  Please know I am not doing so with any maliciousness or hatred towards anyone.  I am not doing this to spread gossip, but to finally reveal our side of the story.  My sister had the opportunity to share her side with thousands of her online bff’s so now they will know the other side of the story.  As I write I will continually have these verses on my mind.

And the Lord’s servant must not be quarrelsome but kind to everyone, able to teach, patiently enduring evil, correcting his opponents with gentleness. God may perhaps grant them repentance leading to a knowledge of the truth, and they may come to their senses and escape from the snare of the devil, after being captured by him to do his will.  2 Timothy 2:24-26, ESV

Put on then, as God’s chosen ones, holy and beloved, compassionate hearts, kindness, humility, meekness, and patience, bearing with one another and, if one has a complaint against another, forgiving each other; as the Lord has forgiven you, so you also must forgive.  Colossians 3:12-13, ESV

I spoke to my brother-in-law early on in the makings of this website and asked if he was comfortable with me saying certain things.  He basically said he didn’t care what I said about him.

My parents know a bit about this website, but they don’t know as much as I do about my sister.  They have not been the same since this happened and some things I reveal I do not want them to know simply because their health can not withstand it.  Anything I say about them, I do not think they will have a problem with.  From long ago conversations with them, I think they would be happy that their side is finally being told.

Here is a bit of family background before I start to introduce what happened from our perspective.

My sister was always outgoing, smart, and feisty!  She was considered the bossy one in the family.  She loves being online.  She likes being the center of attention.  She NEVER had a problem with speaking her mind.

I was considered the tactless one (something I have been trying to improve over the years).  I would often would say things before speaking and hurt people’s feelings.  I was always super shy unless I was around my family.  I am just a bit more outgoing now.  I am probably also considered the weird one, hey  I like to entertain my family.  I always did things differently than my siblings.  I love to laugh.  Unfortunately, I also laugh when I am nervous which has gotten me into trouble before.

My mom is a loving woman who cares deeply about her family.  People travel miles just to spend the night at my parent’s house instead of a hotel because of the inviting atmosphere.  She loves to stuff people full of food as soon as they walk in the door!  She is not perfect, but she is a great mother!  She worries herself sick over us, always has and always will.

My dad is great.  Sarcasm is his weakness.  Odd sense of humor.  He is a man who loves his family.

My parents would do anything for their children.  They would travel cross-country to be with us in our times of need, we never had to worry about financial problems, they always opened their house to us when we needed shelter.  They never turned their backs on any of us.  They love each one of us unconditionally, yes they still love my GCM sister.

My brother-in-law came from a rich family.  He has a strong work ethic which was often a pit-fall in their marriage.

We knew in our family what each of our faults were but we loved each other anyway (or so I thought).

Leave a Reply

