Court

So my sister’s friend wondered why my family would side with an abuser and try to take my sister’s children away from her.  We saw both sides of the situation.  We know both of them well.  We know what caused her to be afraid in May.  We saw my sister slip further and further from reality.  We saw her unable to cope with truth.  She told us that this was right up there with the other tragedy in her life.  I can’t tell you how that concerned me because of how she was after that.  It wasn’t good.  I was very frightened for her mental health and the children.  I was concerned she was in a cult.  We didn’t take sides, but we did try to help her and be fair to all involved.

We didn’t know what to do to help.  We ended up writing affidavits so maybe the judge would see a problem.  He did and assigned a Guardian ad Litem (GAL).  We told her our concerns for my sister.  I told her something was wrong with her and she needed some sort of help.  I didn’t mention I thought she was in a cult.  Maybe I should have.  The GAL assigned my sister’s entire family (wife, husband, children) to a psych evaluation.  The psych evaluation report stated both parties were abusive in the marriage.  After all the results were in, the GAL with great reservation, told the judge that she recommended my sister have custody of the children and she still wanted to stay on the case.  The judge never heard of a GAL staying on the case afterwards, so he refused.

Really, both parents had their issues and I think the GAL could see that.  I had told my BIL when he was being stupid.  Yes, I actually told him something he did was extremely stupid.  It was not good for his children at the time and should have been avoided, but it wasn’t.  I have been totally honest with my BIL whether he was being mean or stupid.  I let him know.  Believe it or not, he hasn’t  disowned me like my sister has.  I have also told him when my sister was being a jerk to him but I tried to convince him to return evil with good.

So we tried what we could to help my sister.  Everything we did was twisted into abuse.  She is still far from reality today and that is heart-breaking.  Unfortunately, my sister and BIL are both selfish to this day, they still mistreat one another, and their children are still caught in the middle.  Their children have been hurt the most.  I could go on and on, but I think I have given as much detail as I need to help others understand what happened.  As Proverbs 10:19 says, “In the multitude of words sin is not lacking.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

